In Social Studies, students continue to focus on the ten unifying Social Studies themes.  Those ten themes are as follows:

  • Individual Development and Cultural Identity
  • Development, Movement, and Interaction of Cultures
  • Time, Continuity, and Change
  • Geography, Humans, and the Environment
  • Development and Transformation of Social Structures
  • Power, Authority, and Governance
  • Civic Ideals and Practices
  • Creation, Expansion, and Interaction of Economic Systems
  • Science, Technology, and Innovation
  • Global Connections and Exchange

Students in Grade 8 are also given the opportunity to receive Regents credit by taking the U.S History and Government Exam which is usually given to students in the 11th grade.